Insurance Requirements
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Vehicles
  4. /
  5. Insurance Requirements

Georgia law requires all insurance companies submit vehicle insurance policy information and validity electronically to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS). Insurance cards are not acceptable proof of insurance coverage for motor vehicle transactions. Changes or cancellations to vehicle insurance are electronically updated to the state system by the insurance company. For most companies, this takes about 24 to 48 hours.

Printed Proof of Georgia Insurance
An original 30-day Insurance Binder with an effective date that is less than 30 days may be accepted for the following reasons:

  1. A vehicle is purchased from an individual
  2. Tag was cancelled during time period with no insurance. Tag reinstatement is requested
  3. Owner has moved in from out of state

Fleet or Self-Insured Policy
Fleet card or self-insurance documents are required to be submitted with all vehicle transactions including renewals. The card must be presented at the time of registration or renewal.

Lapse of Insurance, Suspensions and Waivers
A lapse in insurance occurs when a vehicle has not carried valid Georgia liability insurance coverage for a period of more than 10 days. Insurance companies report the lapse to the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR), and a notice of pending registration suspension is generated and mailed by the DOR. A lapse will result in a $25 pending-suspension fee which must be paid within 30 days.

If the pending-suspension fee of $25 is not paid by the due date, the registration is suspended by the DOR. To reinstate the registration, the vehicle must have valid Georgia insurance coverage, the $25 pending-suspension fee plus a $60 reinstatement fee must be paid, as well as any other registration fees, ad valorem taxes or penalties due. Any additional lapses in coverage and/or suspensions will result in additional fines and penalties including suspension of the vehicle’s registration. The vehicle owner will receive only one letter from the DOR 10 days after insurance lapse.

Pay Insurance Lapse Fines

Cancelling Insurance
Before cancelling insurance on a vehicle, cancel the registration FIRST to avoid penalties.

Cancelling Vehicle Registration

Vehicle registration may be cancelled at any time. However, to avoid insurance suspension fines, registration must be cancelled prior to cancelling insurance.

Cancellation is required if vehicle is:

  • Sold or traded
  • Registered in another state
  • Repossessed, wrecked, salvaged by an insurance company, or junked
  • Stored or rendered inoperable

Reactivation of a registration can be done at any time, provided the insurance has been restored and any outstanding taxes due have been paid.

We offer 6 ways to cancel registration:

There are 6 ways to cancel registration:


Submit an Application of Voluntary Registration Cancellation (MV-18J) signed by the primary owner, with a copy of the primary owner’s valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card via:

  • Text – 833.602.8497
  • Email –
  • Mail – Hall County Tax Commissioner | PO Box 1579 | Gainesville GA 30503
  • Drive-up Drop Box – Located outside the Hall County Government Center
  • In Person – Hall County Government Center | 2875 Browns Bridge Road | 1st Floor | Gainesville GA 30504


How to Reactivate Registration

A vehicle registration may be reactivated at any time, as long as the insurance is active in the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS), and any outstanding ad valorem taxes and fees have been paid.

There are 5 ways to request reactivation:

  • Online at
  • Call – 770.531.6950 option 2
  • Text – 833.602.8497
  • Email –
  • In Person – Hall County Government Center | 2875 Browns Bridge Road | 1st Floor | Gainesville GA 30504


Please Remember:

  • Be sure to cancel your registration before you cancel your vehicle’s insurance.
  • Before you begin the process to reactivate your registration, ensure that your insurance is active in GEICS, and any outstanding ad valorem taxes and fees are paid.
  • Only the primary owner of the vehicle may cancel or reactivate registration.
  • If you have any questions about cancelling or reactivating registration, please contact the Hall County Tax Commissioner’s office at 770-531-6950.